MINUTES OF THE IHSA Esports ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING May 12th, 2025 9:00 AM

The IHSA Esports Advisory Committee met virtually on May 12th, 2025, beginning at 9:00 a.m. Committee members present were: James Keathley, Elgin (H.S.); Ellie Bell, Minooka; Patrick Davey, Chicago (Lane); and Brock Frazier, Metropolis (Massac Co.). Also in attendance was Chris Schwarz, IHSA Assistant Executive. Absent from the meeting were: Colin Flaherty, Milford; and Brian Clausen, Bartonville (Limestone).

TERMS AND CONDITIONS RECOMMENDATIONS:

None.

ADMINISTRATIVE RECOMMENDATIONS: None.

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION:

- 1. The committee reviewed the minutes from the September 11, 2024 meeting. The committee discussed creating a coaches survey to gain feedback for the committee to review in the fall.
- 2. The committee reviewed and discussed the 2025 IHSA Esports State Tournament held at Evergreen Park on Saturday, May 3rd.
- 3. The committee discussed "Madden" and its first year as an official game during the state series.
 - a. The committee discussed the possibility of exploring and defining the term "glitch" as it pertains to the game.
 - b. The committee discussed whether certain plays that cause an "unresponsive player" should be banned.
- 4. The committee discussed possible game recommendations for future state series events. These games ranged from MOBA (multiplayer online battle arena) style games to other popular team games. The committee plans to survey coaches to determine which games should considered in the future.
- 5. The committee discussed whether changes needed to be made to game consoles/systems for the 25-26 school year. The committee decided to revisit this conversation in May of 2026.
- 6. The committee brainstormed ways to assist bracket managers at the sectional level for improved efficiency and continuity.
- 7. The committee discussed implementing rules and guidelines for wireless controllers; specifically for situations when there is lost connectivity or malfunction. The committee will continue to research best practices and anticipate adopting rules/guidelines to be approved in the Fall of 2025.

8. The committee thanked and recognized outgoing members for their outstanding leadership and thoughtful reflection: James Keathley, Elgin (H.S.), Patrick Davey, Chicago (Lane), and Brock Frazier, Metropolis (Massac Co.).